Demon Records releases for Record Store Day 2023 include Ocean Colour Scene, Suede, Pixies, Doctor Who and more!

The team over at Demon Records keep up their impressive releases with another involvement in the very important Record Store Day 2023, and are here with an eclectic collection of records which will only be available at independent record shops on Record Store Day this Saturday 22nd April.

This selection includes releases from the likes of Suede, Ocean Colour Scene, Pixies, T.Rex, Belinda Carlisle, and there’s also another fine-looking Doctor Who collection with stories and features from The Amazing World of Doctor Who, brought to life through some much-loved Doctor Who voices!

Ocean Colour Scene: B-Sides, Seasides and Freerides (Limited to 3,450 copies worldwide)

Rounding up all the B-sides, demos and rarities Ocean Colour Scene released over the course of 1996, when the band was riding the crest of their popularity, B-Sides, Seasides & Freerides, illustrates the depth of the band’s ambition. Primarily comprised of acoustic material, the set includes a fine, stripped-down version of “The Day We Caught the Train”, the neo-prog-rock of “Huckleberry Grove” & the funky instrumental “Chicken Bones and Stones” which features Paul Weller on organ. There’s also a live cover of “Day Tripper” that features Noel Gallagher on guitar and Liam Gallagher on vocals.

Pressed on 140g blue vinyl in gatefold sleeve and complete with printed inner sleeves exclusively for RSD2023.

Pixies: Doolittle – Live In Brussels 2009 (Limited to 7,000 copies worldwide)

In 2009, the reunited Pixies (Black Francis, Kim Deal, David Lovering, and Joey Santiago) celebrated the 20th anniversary of their seminal album ‘Doolittle’ with a world tour. Each night, the band performed the album in full alongside B-sides from the ‘Doolittle’ period. Demon Records is proud to present ‘Doolittle – Live In Brussels, 2009’, a new essential document of this historic tour. The epic 25-song set features raucous versions of ‘Doolittle’ era classics such as ‘Debaser’, ‘Tame’, and ‘Gouge Away’, fan-favourite deep cuts ‘Dancing The Manta Ray’ and ‘Weird At My School’, plus an encore of Pixies’ classics including ‘Gigantic’ and ‘Where Is My Mind?’. The complete show has been newly mixed by Pixies’ producer Tom Dalgety, and mastered and cut by Robin Schmidt at 24-96 Mastering.

Now released on vinyl for the first time, this Record Store Day 2023 exclusive features the complete show pressed on two translucent green and blue 140g vinyl, housed in an outer sleeve with brand new artwork with spot-UV detailing and printed inner sleeves.

Suede: Demos (Limited to 3,750 copies worldwide)

Suede’s eponymous debut album was released 30 years ago in 1993, and won the Mercury Music Prize that year. Fellow nominations included P.J. Harvey and New Order. The band’s demos for this seminal album are issued on vinyl for the first time in specially commissioned sleeve artwork (conceived by Brett Anderson) which resembles a cassette inlay. The LP includes the original demos of the classic singles “The Drowners” and “Metal Mickey”, as well as the album tracks “Pantomime Horse”, “Sleeping Pills” and “He’s Dead”, plus B-side “To The Birds”.

Also featured are the outtake “Diesel” and the rehearsal room recording “Stars On 45”. Pressed on 140 gram clear vinyl.

T.Rex: Rockin’ & Rollin’ (Limited to 4,500 copies worldwide)

Originally released only in Japan 50 years ago in 1973, this is the first ever repress of this classic compilation. It is reissued in its original Japanese sleeve, now with a brand new inner sleeve featuring the Japanese picture sleeves of the singles.
The 18 track selection features the hits “Telegram Sam”, “Metal Guru”, “Children Of The Revolution”, “Solid Gold Easy Action”, “20th Century Boy” and “The Groover”. It also includes the non-album B-sides, the classics “Born To Boogie”, “Spaceball Ricochet” and “Ballrooms Of Mars”, plus many more. Pressed on 140g pink vinyl.

Ian McCulloch: Slideling (Limited to 3,500 copies worldwide)

Demon Records is proud to present the 20th anniversary edition of ‘Slideling’, the third solo album by
Echo & the Bunnymen frontman and celebrated singer-songwriter Ian McCulloch. First released in 2003, the album was produced by acclaimed producer Cenzo Townshend and features guest performances by Coldplay’s Chris Martin and Jonny Buckland on stand-out tracks ‘Sliding’ and ‘Arthur’.
To mark the 20th anniversary, the album is released on vinyl for the very first time, exclusively for Record Store Day 2023. Newly mastered by Phil Kinrade at AIR Mastering and pressed on 140g white vinyl. Housed in an outer sleeve with spot-UV detailing and a printed inner sleeve featuring the complete lyrics.

Doctor Who: The Amazing World of Doctor Who (Ltd to 3,000 copies Europe)

Available exclusively to RSD2023, stories and features from the celebrated book of the same name, brought to life with sound design and some much-loved Doctor Who voices.

Published in Doctor Who’s 60th anniversary year, the coloured vinyl LPs are presented in a gatefold sleeve with illustrated inner bags. Chris Achilleos’s iconic artwork for the original book provides a stunning front and back cover. First published in 1976, The Amazing World of Doctor Who thrilled fans with short stories and strips featuring the Fourth Doctor, Sarah and Harry in brand new adventures. It also supplied the lowdown on the Doctor’s past history and some of the foes he’d encountered to date.

This nostalgic audio edition includes The Sinister Sponge, The Vampires of Crellium, On The Slippery Trail and The Mission, plus A New Life and Avast There from the 1976 Doctor Who Annual. The Psychic Jungle and Neuronic Nightmare are multi-voice tales with thrilling sound design, and there are also charming mini-features on the Daleks, the Cybermen, the TARDIS and more.
Dan Starkey (Strax), Louise Jameson (Leela) and Geoffrey Beevers (the Master) lend their vocal talents to these weird and wacky stories from the pages of the famous vintage book.

Belinda Carlisle: Remixes (Limited to 3,000 copies Europe)

Packaged in brand new specially-commissioned artwork, this 2LP set contains twelve hit remixes collected together on vinyl for the first time. It features original remixes of Belinda’s biggest hits mixed by Shep Pettibone, William Orbit, Steve
Beltran & Keith Cohen, Peter Arata & Rick Nowels, Justin Strauss and more. Tracks include “Heaven Is A Place On Earth”, “Leave A Light On, “Summer Rain”, “I Get Weak”, “Circle In the Sand”, “(We Want) The Same Thing”, “Live Your Life Be Free” and more.

Pressed on 140gram clear vinyl.

Demon Records released come to independent record shops on Record Store Day this Saturday 22nd April:


Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.