Features / Music

Iceland Airwaves Festival, featuring Of Monsters and Men, Ólafur Arnalds, Daði Freyr, Júníus Meyvant and Ásgeir livestreaming from Reykjavík this Fri and Sat!

From Iceland with love. 

You know we all need something fresh to listen to right now, and what’s better than some of the finest Icelandic goodness, live streamed to your house! So Iceland’s foremost musicians have banded together for Live From Reykjavík, a new, streaming festival brought to you by the team behind Iceland Airwaves.  

Of Monsters and Men, Ólafur Arnalds, Ásgeir, Daði Freyr, Júníus Meyvant and more have been announced for two nights of incredible performances across Reykjavík on Friday November 13th and Saturday November 14th 2020!

This is an ambitious online event, making it one of the biggest ever celebrations of Icelandic talent for the world to see, and the first major livestream event from the world’s most Northerly capital. The line-up reflects the creativity, dynamism and diversity in Iceland’s music scene. ‘Live from Reykjavik’ is a collaboration with Iceland’s public broadcaster RÚV,  and will also be broadcasted domestically on TV, radio and online.

The festival features both internationally established acts and artists on the rise. Riding high on another success with their new single ‘Visitor’, Of Monsters and Men will perform a dazzling set in one of the most intimate venues they’ve played for many years. Ólafur Arnalds will premiere a special show in support of his upcoming album ‘some kind of peace’ (released this November). Ásgeir, one of Iceland’s best loved singer-songwriters, will share music from his latest long player ‘Bury the Moon’ right back to his debut ‘In The Silence

Daði Freyr will present his new show, including this year’s global viral smash ‘Think About Things’ (over 50,000,000 streams and counting), alongside BDSM techno provocateurs Hatari, who caught the world’s imagination at Eurovision 2018, and are the subject of a new feature film ‘A Song Called Hate’. 

Emilíana Torrini makes a welcome return, joined by friends Tina Dickow, Markéta Irglová, Pétur Ben and Helgi Jonsson performing each other’s songs in an intimate set. Legendary Icelandic troubadours Júníus Meyvant  (Check out Color Decay from this superb fella) and Mugison will take the moment to perform some of their most loved tracks alongside premiering new material – Yeees!

Other acts set to appear include the sax and synth heavy tracks of dream-pop trio Vök, chamber pop group Hjaltalín, the brightest new faces of the Icelandic pop scene Bríet, Auður and GDRN, darkwave breakthrough band Kælan Mikla, longstanding Iceland Airwaves Alumni MAMMÚT, and uprising rap artist Cell7

Festival director Ísleifur Þórhallsson, had this to say:

“We wanted to find a way to shine a spotlight on the vast talent of the music scene here in Iceland, as well as support the larger industry and show some innovation. To have all these artists in Iceland at the same time is a ‘lighting strikes once’ moment, and we wanted to seize it with both hands.”

Performances will be captured across iconic Airwaves venues such as Iðnó, Gamla Bío, Reykjavík Art Museum and more.  To celebrate this unique moment around the world, the performances will stream from 19:30 GMT, and then across optimised time zones on Nov 13/14* at: 

  • UK / Europe (GMT) 19:30 start 
  • East Coast America (EST) 19:30 start 
  • West Coast America (PST) 19:30 start 
  • Australasia* (AEDT Australia) 19:30 start (*Nov 14/15 due to international date line)  

Ticket options include: 

  • 2-day pass for both days (GBP £40 / USD $50 / AUD $70) 
  • 1-day pass for Friday or Saturday (GBP £30 / USD $40 / AUD $55) 
  • Standalone shows: Ásgeir, Ólafur Arnalds, Daði Freyr (GBP £15 – viewable worldwide)   

Tickets: icelandairwaves.is/live  




Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.