Home Entertainment

BBC Studios announces Doctor Who: The Collection – Standard Edition releases!

BBC Studios is pleased to announce that it will be introducing a range of standard packaging releases to its popular Doctor Who: The Collection Blu-ray range. The first titles to join this new range will be Season 12 (with Tom Baker) and Season 12 (with Peter Davison), which are available to pre-order now. The Collection range offers fans the opportunity to build their own home archive of classic Doctor Who, with High Definition picture and sound remasters, as well as brand-new special features exclusive to these sets. The Limited Edition sets have proven extremely popular among fans – and often quite difficult to get hold of – so this new standard packaging range will help fans to fill gaps in their Who collection. Seasons 12 and 19 will be available from Monday 31 May 2021.

New releases within The Collection range will be marketed as Doctor Who: The Collection Limited Edition Packaging, while the standard edition range will be marketed as Doctor Who: The Collection. The Limited Edition line will continue to offer fans bespoke, premium packaging featuring a beautifully presented box containing the discs and a full-length, premium-printed booklet which includes illustrations and in-depth, behind the scenes insight. Releases within the new, standard packaging Doctor Who: The Collection range will feature a standard, plastic Blu-ray case inside a slipcase, with a condensed, standard-printed 12-page booklet featuring disc-breakdowns and selected illustrations. The new range will include all of the watchable content and special features included in the Limited Edition Packaging release, and will be available ongoing.

Season 12 (1974-75) of Doctor Who saw the introduction of the indomitable Tom Baker as the fourth incarnation of the Doctor, as he travelled through time and space with his companions Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen) and Harry Sullivan (Ian Marter), battling robots, giant insects and Davros, creator of the Daleks. It’s a fondly-remembered season, featuring such classic stories as Robot, The Ark in Space, The Sontaran Experiment, Genesis of the Daleks and Revenge of the Cybermen.

This Blu-ray release features all five serials (twenty episodes) restored in HD, as well as a TARDIS-full of new special features including: Tom Baker in Conversation with Matthew Sweet; Behind the Sofa commentaries on every story; new making of documentaries for The Sontaran Experiment and Revenge of the Cybermen; immersive 5.1 surround sound mixes on The Ark in Space and Genesis of the Daleks; optional updated special effects for Revenge of the Cybermen; Genesis of the Daleks – TV Movie version (unseen since 1975); and much more…

Season 19 (1982) of Doctor Who saw Peter Davison take on the mantle of the Fifth Doctor for exciting adventures in space and time with his companions Tegan (Janet Fielding), Nyssa (Sarah Sutton) and Adric (Matthew Waterhouse), fighting off Cybermen, Terileptils, the Mara and the Master (Anthony Ainley). This exciting season features Castrovalva, Four To Doomsday, Kinda, The Visitation, Black Orchid, Earthshock and Time-Flight.

The Blu-ray release sees all seven serials (twenty-six episodes) restored in High Definition – with all of the 16mm film sequences newly-remastered in Full HD – as well as plenty of exclusive special features including: Peter Davison in Conversation with Matthew Sweet; five new making of documentaries for Castrovalva, Four To Doomsday, Black Orchid, Earthshock and Time-Flight; Behind the Sofa commentaries on each serial; immersive 5.1 surround sound mixes on Kinda and Earthshock; an extended edit of Black Orchid: Part One; raw studio footage; updated special effects for Castrovalva and much more…

Doctor Who – The Collection: Season 12 (£51.05 RRP) and Doctor Who – The Collection: Season 19 (£51.05 RRP) will be available from Monday 31 May 2021, and can be pre-ordered now from Amazon, HMV and Zavvi: https://amzn.to/31drZCn

Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.