Streaming / Television

Doctor Who launches Revolution of the Daleks merch and soundtrack!

Fresh from the weekend, and the NYD Doctor Who special Revolution of the Daleks (read our review here), the BBC and Eaglemoss have announced the soundtrack to the episode, and a fancy set of figurines and pin badges, have been released!

Hero Collector and Eaglemoss are offering up their Doctor Who seasonal special pin badges and figurines, which were kept largely under wraps until now, with only the Thirteenth Doctor and Revolution Dalek pin badges revealed. The full set depicts the Thirteenth Doctor (Jodie Whittaker) and Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman) in their prison uniforms, as well as the Revolution Dalek, all at 1:21 scale (approx. 3.5 inches tall).

The hand-painted items join their existing range of Doctor Who models, and are accompanied by an in-depth companion magazine, packed with details from this exciting festive special. While the full Revolution of the Daleks Figurine Box Set launches in April 2021, it’s available to pre-order now on their website.

You’ve also got the seven chibi-style metal pin badges that depict the Thirteenth Doctor, Captain Jack Harkness, and the Revolution Dalek as well as four imprisoned aliens seen in the Doctor Who Festive Special – the Weeping Angel, the Ood, the Sycorax and the Silence. This little thing is available now.

As well as those collectables, the team at BBC Studios have also released the soundtrack for the New Year’s Day special, and that’s also available to download on Spotify, Amazon, Apple, Deezer and Tidal. Composer, Segun Akinola, who has composed the score for Series 11 and Series 12 of Doctor Who, had this to say:

“Revolution of the Daleks is an emotional rollercoaster full of action, tension, old friends, old enemies and some heartfelt goodbyes, all of which are accompanied by music that utilises many of the musical themes from Series 11 and Series 12, and very often moves from a solo cello to orchestra, and much more in-between.

It’s a ‘special’ in every sense of the word which I hope those who’ve enjoyed listening to the Series 11 and 12 albums will love. So, if that’s you, thank you – this album is dedicated to you!”

Segun is an alumnus of the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and part of 2017’s BAFTA Breakthrough Brit programme, with other works including Sundance 2019 wonderful The Last Tree, Shola Amoo’s A Moving Image, (nominated for a Discovery Award, World Soundtrack Awards), and David Olusoga’s Black and British: A Forgotten History.

Track listing:

1. 367 Minutes

2. A Cuppa

3. Something Revolutionary

4. Breakout Ball

5. The Clone

6. The Production Line

7. Stability and Security

8. Thank You for Being My Friend

9. Activate

10. The Death Squad

11. Bad Boys

12. Bye Fam

Doctor Who: Revolution of the Daleks soundtrack is available now from £8.99. The Revolution of the Daleks aired on BBC One on New Year’s Day, and is available now on BBC iPlayer.

Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.