Film / Music

Florence Pugh releases two original songs from Zach Braff’s A Good Person and Bryce Dessner’s Original score is out now!

There’s some good stuff here, and Braff’s soundtracks for his films have always been ones to savour, so I’m very happy to share the news that Mercury Classics Soundtrack & Score will release both Bryce Dessner’s original score (out now on digital here, or vinyl here) and Zach Braff’s curated compilation soundtrack album (Pre-order here for 14th April), featuring two brand new songs written and performed by Florence Pugh!

A Good Person is written and directed by Braff, and focuses around Daniel (Morgan Freeman), who is brought together with Allison (Florence Pugh), a once thriving young woman with a bright future who was involved in an unimaginable tragedy that took his daughter’s life. As grief-stricken Daniel navigates raising his teenage granddaughter and Allison seeks redemption, they discover that friendship, forgiveness, and hope can flourish in unlikely places.

Picked by Braff, the film’s compilation soundtrack features a range of folk-infused songs, including The Velvet Underground’s iconic 1969 song After Hours, written by Lou Reed and performed by the band’s drummer Moe Tucker, Bristol-based singer-songwriter Fenne Lilly’s Hyopcondriac, American singer-songwriter Lizzie McAlpine’s To The Mountains, American indie rock singer-songwriter Cary BrothersStardust, performed in the film for Allison (Pugh) by Cary himself, and more – see full tracklisting below!

The compilation soundtrack also features two brand new singles written and performed for the film by Florence PughI Hate Myself and The Best Part showcase Pugh’s captivating vocals alongside raw and heartfelt lyrics that complement the emotional turbulence of the film. On writing these songs for the film, she had this to say: 

“I wrote these songs for my character Allison in the movie to perform, but also as a way to process and digest her mindset and her low headspace. It was unbelievably helpful and hard; I wanted a song to reflect the self-hatred she had for herself in a way that the audience can truly understand.”

The original score for the film, by Grammy Award-winning composer, musician and founding member of The National Bryce Dessner, compliments the film’s emotional complexity. Guiding the listener through the story with mournful orchestrations, dream-like piano melodies and ambient soundscapes. Dessner has a high-profile presence in film score composition, with credits including The Revenant, for which he was Grammy and Golden Globe-nominated, Fernando Mereilles’s The Two Popes, Mike Mill’s C’mon C’mon and Bardo, by Alejandro González Iñárritu.

A Good Person The Original Score is out now, and the Compilation Soundtrack will be released on Friday 14th April, via Mercury Classics Soundtrack & Score

10” LP, Alison’s Songs, featuring Pugh’s original tracks to follow on 19th May

A Good Person Compilation Soundtrack Tracklist:

  1. The Velvet Underground – After Hours
  2. Angelo De Augustine – Time
  3. Fenne Lilly – Hypochondriac
  4. Odessa – Wake Up With The Sun
  5. Lizzy McAlpine – To The Mountains
  6. Benjamin Lazar Davis – A Love Song Seven Ways
  7. Cary Brothers – Stardust
  8. Del Water Gap-Ode – A conversation Stuck In Your Throat
  9. Florence Pugh – I Hate Myself
  10. Florence Pugh – The Best Part
  11. Bonny Light Horseman – Deep In Love
  12. Leona Naess – On My Mind

A Good Person Score Tracklist:

  1. Opening
  2. Daniel Gets The news
  3. Allie Finds Out
  4. Allie Rides
  5. Refill Attempt
  6. Bathroom Blackout
  7. A Friendly Lunch
  8. I’m A Junkie
  9. Daniel and The Bottle
  10. Daniel and Nathan
  11. I’m On Your Side
  12. Trying To Sleep
  13. Nathan’s New Life
  14. Mouthful Of Pills
  15. She’s In Williamsburg
  16. Pawn Shop
  17. Daniel’s Letter
  18. A Good Person Main Theme

Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.