Home Entertainment

BBC Studios announce release of Season 8 in the Doctor Who: The Collection Blu-Ray range

BBC Studios continues to offer Doctor Who fans the opportunity to build their own home archive of classic content with The Collection: Season 8. Starring Jon Pertwee and Katy Manning, this hotly anticipated boxset can be pre-ordered now and will be available from 23rd February 2021.

Doctor Who – The Collection: Season 8 contains five classic stories from 1971 – Terror of the Autons, The Mind of Evil, The Claws of Axos, Colony in Space and The Daemons.

Stranded on 20th Century Earth, the Third Doctor teams up with UNIT and new companion Jo Grant to thwart alien invasions! And that’s not all, he must also contend with the arrival of his deadliest foe –arch nemesis the Master (Roger Delgado).

Battling Autons, Axons, an alien mind parasite and a mighty Daemon, the Doctor, Jo and UNIT must defend the Earth and its future pioneers in five action-packed adventures.

All 25 episodes have been newly remastered, and this Blu-ray box set also contains extensive and exclusive special features including:

  • Behind the Sofa – brand new episodes with Katy Manning, Stewart Bevan, Janet Fielding, Sarah Sutton, Sacha Dhawan and Anjli Mohindra.
  • In Conversation – Matthew Sweet chats to companion Katy Manning.
  • A Devils Weekend – Actors Katy Manning and John Levene take a personal trip back to the picturesque village of Aldbourne, 50 years after they recorded the Doctor Who story The Daemons there.
  • The Direct Route – Doctor Who directors Michael Briant, Graeme Harper and Tim Combe take an epic road trip to all the filming locations from Season 8 as they discuss directing the show in the early 1970s.
  • Terrance and Me – Lifelong Doctor Who fan Frank Skinner sets out to meet the family, friends and colleagues of the late, much-loved writer, Terrance Dicks.
  • Blu-Ray trailer – A specially shot mini-episode.
  • Extended Episode 1 of The Claws of Axos.
  • 90 minute omnibus edition of The Daemons
  • Immersive 5.1 surround sound on Terror of the Autons and The Daemons
  • Optional updated special effects and CSO clean-up on Terror of the Autons
  • Unseen studio footage.
  • Rare archive treats.
  • Convention footage.
  • HD photo galleries.
  • PDFs of scripts, costume designs, rare BBC production files.
  • And lots more!

The eight-disc box set also includes hours of special features previously released on DVD.

Doctor Who –The Collection: Season 8 can be pre-ordered now from Amazon, HMV, and Zoom.


Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.