Features / Music

Demon Music presents: Caught Beneath the Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the ‘90s 2LP and 4CD release!

Now this is right up my street! Not only of one of the finest eras of music in the UK… ever, but its impact on music lives on today. Not only is this a smart setup, one of the most impressive thing about Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the ‘90s is the inventive tracklisting, which is a welcome far cry from your classic Britpop releases, where every obvious track you probably already have in you collection sits there once again. This version of invention features a plethora of B-sides, acoustic versions and cult classic tracks from all the bands you could possibly want in one place, and it’s available to pre-order now!

Back in 2020, which I believe was only last year, Cassell Illustrated published Kevin Cummins (chief photographer at the NME) book ‘While We Were Getting High: Britpop and the ‘90s’, a collection of Kevin’s breath-taking photographs that captured an extraordinary moment in Pop music history. Now Kevin has compiled ‘Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the ‘90s’, a companion collection to his book on 71 track 4CD set, and there’s also a 26-track 2LP version. The 4CD will have an ‘Amazon Exclusive’ limited edition signed print available and the LP will have a signed version exclusive to the Indies! Cummins had this to say:

“It was always my ambition to have a companion album to the book, a chance to enjoy the music of that era, music as timeless as the images. When I was selecting photos for my book, I took to Twitter to ask fans if certain bands could be considered part of the genre. Several musicians joined in to deny they were ever part of Britpop. The Manics were never considered part of the genre, nor Primal Scream, and much as I would have like to include them I chose not to. So it pleases me that we can feature both bands and many more in this collection, with its broader take on Indie music in ‘90s Britain.”

Wanna know what’s on this new release? Of course you do, check out this sterling line-up of songs and bands! Pre-order links are just below (or dive in now) for release of all the formats on 14th May, now there’s a way to really kick off the Summer of 2021!

Tracklisting for CD 1

1. Blur – Young And Lovely / 2. Suede – He’s Dead / 3. Huggy Bear – Her Jazz / 4. Cornershop – England’s Dreaming / 5. The Fall – Lost In Music / 6. New Order – Regret (New Order Mix) / 7. James – Sometimes / 8. Elastica – Pussycat / 9. The Auteurs – Lenny Valentino (Original Mix) / 10. Saint Etienne – Pale Movie (Lemonentry Mix) / 11. Inspiral Carpets featuring Mark E. Smith – ‘I Want You’ / 12. Terrorvision – The Model / 13. S*M*A*S*H – Barrabas(Piloted) / 14. Shed Seven – Dolphin / 15. Catatonia – Whale / 16. Echobelly – Today, Tomorrow, Sometime, Never (Live, Wetlands, New York) / 17. Gene – Be My Light, Be My Guide / 18. Manic Street Preachers – The Drowners(Live)


1. Primal Scream – Jailbird (Dust Brothers Remix) / 2. Paul Weller vs. Portishead – Wild Wood (Sheared Wood Remix) / 3. Radiohead – Planet Telex (Hexidecimal Mix) / 4. The Cardigans – The Boys Are Back In Town / 5. Menswear – I’ll Manage Somehow (Original Single Mix) / 6. Powder – 20th Century Gods / 7. The Lightning Seeds – Lucifer Sam / 8. Pulp – Razzmatazz (Acoustic Version) / 9. Duffy – London Girls / 11. Heavy Stereo ‘Sleep Freak’ / 12. Supergrass – Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) / 13. Feeder – Rush (Live) / 15. Northern Uproar – Rollercoaster / 16. The Wannadies – Lee Remick / 17. Kula Shaker – Tattva (Lucky 13 Mix)


1. Marion – Let’s All Go Together (Slide Mix) / 2. Dodgy – Grateful Moon / 3. Ride – Black NiteCrash / 4. Fluffy – Husband / 5. Lush – Ciao! / 6. Electrafixion – Sister Pain (Acoustic) / 7. Out Of My Hair – Safe Boy / 8. Spacehog – In The Meantime / 9. Space – Neighbourhood / 10. Whipping Boy – Fiction (Live – The Furnace In Dublin) / 11. Plastic Fantastic – Complimentary Electron / 12. Longpigs – On And On / 13. Dubstar – Elevator Song / 14. Jocasta – The Land Of Do As You Please / 15. Sleeper – Atomic / 16. Ash – Does Your Mother Know / 17. Ocean Colour Scene – Travellers Tune (Original Version) / 18. The Supernaturals – Smile


1. Super Furry Animals – Something For The Weekend (Rockfield Version) / 2. Silver Sun – There Will Never Be Another Me / 3. The Boo Radleys – What’s In The Box (See Whatcha Got) / 4. The Bluetones – Marblehead Johnson / 5. The Charlatans – The Two Of Us / 6. Me Me Me- Hanging Around / 7. Shampoo – Cars / 8. Babybird- You’re Gorgeous Too / 9. Salad – I Want You / 10. Bis – Wee Love / 11. Kenickie- In Your Car / 12. Speedy – Boy Wonder / 13. Reef – YerOld (Young Version) / 14. Electronic – All That I Need / 15. 60Ft Dolls – Pretty Horses / 16. These Animal Men – Wichita Lineman / 17. The Aloof – One Night Stand (7” Version) / 18. Oasis – Champagne Supernova (Brendan Lynch Mix)

Pre-order your version: https://amzn.to/2NLlpQi

And YES, there’s more, well, the vinyl tracklisting – Pre-order this one: https://amzn.to/3dPAFqc and there’s also a special Indies Only clear vinyl available:

Pre-order the CD https://amzn.to/2NLlpQi

Pre-order the vinyl: https://amzn.to/3dPAFqc

Both are released on 14th May from Edsel Records, from Demon Music Group.


2 thoughts on “Demon Music presents: Caught Beneath the Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the ‘90s 2LP and 4CD release!

Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.